My thoughts on "paper"

How to get through that TBR pile || Reading tips

Dear Reader,
With the upcoming BookTube-A-Thon, I figured it would be a good idea to give the world some tips to make reading easier. Now, if you don’t know what booktube-a-thon is, it’s basically a week a year where you get challenged to read as many books as you can. It mostly takes place on Youtube, for the booktube community, but anyone may attend. There are daily challenges and prices and lots of reading. This is my first year to attend, but instead of on film, I’ll be attending on my blog.

So, If you’re not really a person who likes to read, or if you have a hard time reading, this post may help you. I love reading, but I haven’t been reading much this year, and from now on, I’m going to change that. The booktube-a-thon is a perfect time to get started and pick up those books again.

So let’s get on with the tips.

· Choose a book with good reviews.

Reading is much more fun if you actually read a good book. A well written book is the key to being a fast reader. So before you purchase a book, look on the internet if the book has some good reviews. I always check goodreads.com before I buy any book.

· Get a book with a pretty cover.

I know, I know, don’t judge a book upon its cover, but it does make differences. If you are in love with the cover of a book, it’s easier to get started with reading. I love pretty covers, and honestly, I always read the pretty ones first…

· Get a standard reading time each day.

Mostly I try to read from nine to ten each day. Because I know that I will read at that time, I won’t procrastinate and get much more reading done.

· Don’t try to hurry!

The goal here isn’t to read so much you don’t enjoy it anymore. You should still be happy to be reading and calm in the progress. Your goal should be to decrease your tbr pile, but not in a way you feel like you can’t take your time.

· Find a quiet place.

I don’t know about you but I can’t read when people around me are talking, so I always try to find a quiet place to read. Everyone knows the thing when you don’t concentrate on the book and then have to read those 20 pages all over again…

·Use marks.

Try to put a mark for how much you want to read each day. That could be 20 pages or 100, it’s all up to you! I always use sticky notes, and when I reach my goal, I’m more motivated to reach that goal again the next day.

· Have fun!

If you don’t enjoy it, you won’t get through that book. Try to talk to others that have read the book while reading it, it’ll keep you motivated! Only look out for spoilers, because people tend to ruin things sometimes. Fall in love with the characters and get into it!

 If you find the right book, mindset and place, you’ll get through that tbr pile in no time. Just remember, reading opens up millions of new worlds! And if you have never heard of book tube, please take a look! Book tube has really been one of the best things I’ve come across on YouTube.

I hope these tips will help you a little, thanks a lot for reading!

Love always, Laura Grace

Leave a Reply

